Amen –


Mother + Son = Coolness!


Mothers and Sons……have a really special type of relationship and it is imperative that it is groomed and molded correctly. I teach my son so many things and allow him to discover things about himself, God and even how he interacts with me. I give him space to learn and to grow…..and I GLOW in the fact that he always asks questions about EVERYTHING.

It takes one woman twenty years to make a man of her son – and another woman twenty minutes to make a fool of him….that sounds harsh but it is the truth! However, I think that via raising a son……. A son is a son till he takes him a wife, a daughter is a daughter all of her life. Maybe it is a woman / female bond that never goes away and women just make a priority.

He who can be a good son will be a good father so that why it is imperative that we make sure as a mother we POUR INTO OUR SONS as much positivity as possible. We also have to be LIVING examples and remember that their first few girlfriends they may compare to us – so “watch” who they bring home! LOL

My son talks about getting married and having 4 kids! He says that he wants his wife to be and act like me but he wants her to be white! I giggled to myself and THEN asked him if color matters to him? He said no mom…. but when I am at school or out, more black girls act ghetto more than white girls….

I said ok.. I can see your point in that and you do not want that type of girlfriend when you get older BUT what if when you get older – you see black girls acting like nice ladies? He said maybe I may change my mind but I just want them to act like you.

I HAVE TO BE HONEST…………….. for a moment that had me worried… I do not raise or want “no momma’s boys” but I do want my son to respect me..honor me…. listen to my opinions and sometimes take my advice because he trust what I am saying to him.

EVENTUALLY as we look back on how we raise our kids…….

Your son at five is your master, at ten your slave, at fifteen your double, and after that, your friend or your foe, depending on his bringing up!! LOL Little joke but it has humor AND truth to it… My son is 10 right now and I rip and run EVERYWHERE with and for that boy. I put my events around his schedule!!! So does that mean I am his slave?…no but I am choosing to just put him first.  Giving your son a SET OF skills in life  is better than giving him money, fame and power…

I am just very grateful that we talk about any and everything – even when it makes me CRINGE! I thank God for the genuine, honest, loving, Christian, caring, nurturing- open relationship.

You Can Too –


Some of the MOST important people in our lives as well as our nation’s history had to learn how to OVERCOME! We feel that we are always the only individuals who seem to go through hell, experience failure, betrayed, lose friends, lose finances and the breaking up of family. Welp, if that were indeed the case, how successful would the ” human race ” actually be? We should READ MORE and this way we would discover that, “we too can beging again” regardless how  many times we have to attempt to make our goals a reality!

In 1831 he failed in business.
In 1832 he was defeated for the state legislature.
In 1833 he failed again in business.
In 1834 he was elected to the state legislature.
In 1835 his sweetheart died.
In 1836 he had a nervous breakdown.
In 1838 he was defeated for Speaker.
In 1840 he was defeated for Elector.
In 1843 he was defeated for Congress.
In 1846 he was elected for one term to Congress.
 
In 1848 he was defeated again for Congress.
In 1855 he was defeated for the Senate.
In 1856 he was defeated for Vice President.
In 1858 he was defeated again for the Senate.
 

In 1860 he, finally, was elected President of the United States. And these are just a few of the rough spots in the life of great former United States President, Abraham Lincoln.

Abraham Lincoln grew up in a very difficult environment. He had less than one year of formal schooling. He experienced defeat and failure year after year, but is one of the great-greatest. success stories of all time. In spite of everything, he had the right attitude to achieve success!

Guess what – it is 2012 going on 2013 and YES….the world is STILL a mess but there are opportunities available for you to be and maintain a success story if you do not GIVE UP!