Free but not Cheap!

You may have heard the expression, “Salvation is free, but it isn’t cheap.” God‘s gift of life to us cost Jesus Christ His  life. He, the very Son of God, willingly surrendered His life so that we might receive God’s wonderful gift of eternal lifeGod’s gift to you and me is ACTUALLY PRICELESS!!

But He expects us to surrender our lives in return: “If you want to be my follower you must love me more than your own father and mother, wife and children, brothers and sisters—yes, more than your own life. Otherwise, you cannot be my disciple. And you cannot be my disciple if you do not carry your own cross and follow me” (Luke 14:26-27  …..(26) If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple. …(27) And whosoever doth not bear his cross, and come after me, cannot be my disciple.

Our love for and commitment to Jesus Christ and God the Father must be more important to us than any other relationship. Each of have to be willing to bear his “cross,” to faithfully follow Jesus even through life’s most difficult challenges.

Verses 28-33 carry that thought, warning us to consider carefully that accepting the gift of eternal life comes at the highest cost we can imagine. “So no one can become my disciple without giving up everything for me” (verse 33, NLT, 1996).

As Jesus Christ gave His life for us, we must be willing to give our lives to follow Him!

