Family

Cemetery Visit

This may seem weird to some BUT – my family spent about 3 hours at the cemetery to visit my beloved Big Mom ( grandmother ), my Aunt Clara ( which we all forgot was buried next to my Big Mom ) and for my family to pick out out burial plots next to each other so that when”that day comes” all will be taken care of.

 

I have to admit that I was AN EMOTIONAL WRECK when I saw my Auntie Clara’s site..

I used to think that going to grave sites were a bit weird but it was REALLY therapy for me when I decided to go… Yes we initially all went to the grave site because we were choosing our markers, plots etc..etc..etc… but I WAS NOT going to leave without “stopping by” seeing my grandmother’s ( Big Ma’s ) burial plot. Yes… I was so happy that I did – it opened and closed a great deal of wounds that I had no idea was there…..

Nonetheless, we all had a nice time at the CEMETERY if that makes any sense or even SOUNDS RIGHT!  Well wait – my 10 year old HATED THE WHOLE EXPERIENCE……. He said it kept making him think of his father being dead….which he meant was my dad because he called my dad, Daddy as well. However, with the other family that was there just connecting with one another BLESSED ME…. and eventually – he SEMI got over it….. he ran up to the top of the cemetery because… he was INDEED over the whole death talk!

 Well thank goodness that MY MOMMY is still alive and doing well and I thank God DAILY….

My Mommy Doodle was very happy to be at the grave site as well. She smiled so hard when she saw her OWN MOTHER‘S grave marker– My mom is SOOOOO STRONG and to see her even be sad even for a second almost knocked me over…. She is indeed my SHE – RO! Hero in female form! LOL

We all cracked jokes on how we are happy that we were all able to obtain grave plots all in a row next to one another. I video taped our little happy meeting scenario and it was cute and sad all at the same time.

Regardless, being with my family is just plain old amazing! ( some of them at least ) My father taught me as early as in middle school the importance of getting our DEAD WORK together! I know it sounds a tad bit harsh but that is what my daddy called it and it surely makes sense to get things in order BEFORE you die! Okay enough death talk…..

1 thought on “Cemetery Visit”

  1. Hey Valerie,
    This is one subject many don’t like to talk about.
    Memories, emotional healing, family get together, future planning all in one day.
    I’m glad your Shero is well and strong and that your son got over the upset.
    You’re right, it is strange to say it was a good trip (to a cemetery) my mother-in-law tends to talk about ‘good funerals’ now most would ask what’s good about funerals?
    Anyway, you’ve given me a few things to think about concerning my future plans. 🙂

Comments are closed.