My Own Cross To Bear –

Okay, I understand that EVERYONE has their own morals, values, beliefs, stances and views. However, people that know me, respects the fact that I do not celebrate Halloween because of my OWN personal Christian views.

However, I am almost certain that because they state they are Christian as well – they try to make me UNDERSTAND why they celebrate it with their kids, friends and family. I do not judge them if they CHOOSE to celebrate the holiday but when they ask me about it – I tell them the foundation of the holiday is supported and uplifted but all of the following:

sorcerers – witches – warlocks and wizards ( and everything that is negative )

I call it the Devil’s birthday along with his own version of Christmas because besides Christmas and Thanksgiving – there is NO OTHER HOLIDAY that is celebrated like Halloween. I mean Valentine’s Day has even lost its zeal and does not have the same fire that American couples used to give it. Thanksgiving seems to be viewed more like a family / religious holiday ( which has been MY favorite holiday since a child )……

Some people just love scary movies, haunted things, calling out the dead, running around old cemeteries, practicing witch hunts and playing with ouije  (weegee) boards etc. Well, honey if people do not believe in the -real -NESS of HEAVEN and hell – I am so sorry – but I do and there is NOTHING fun about Halloween and dressing up like scary characters while worrying about how high the crime rate will go up for the night, while being scared to walk home on a night called Fright Night!

While going to a house that is supposed to be haunted and something always seems to happen negative but people become upset if something tragic happens to you – even though it was YOUR decision to put yourself in harm’s way all because of you not believing –

Halloween and MY FAITH just don’t go together!

I just do not get it…….I personally ENJOY having a peaceful night’s sleep and not having gory, creepy nightmares…..

1 Comment

Comments are closed.