Helping Self...

Understanding Vegan Types –

Vegan-Food-Pyramid-New

The difference between a vegan and a vegetarian is that a vegan eliminates all animal products from his or her diet, including dairy. Those following a vegan lifestyle generally do not wear leather and avoid products made from animals such as wool, silk and down. Vegans’ tremendous humanity for animals is an abiding, overriding conviction in their lives.

 Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish or poultry, but may from time to time eat dairy products such as cheese, eggs, yogurt or milk. Vegetarians are not as predictable in their beliefs, as there are many reasons to become vegetarian that don’t necessarily include altruism as a primary motive. For example, many vegetarians have eliminated meat for the sake of their health or just other personal but simple reasons. As far as health is concerned – I am VERY ANEMIC ( low blood levels ) and it is a MUST that I ENDURE chicken, fish and red meat on occasion.

vegan_food1

Now eating chicken to me does not make me gag ( most times ) but I must get a high dosage of protein and iron due to my body levels. Therefore, eating chicken in varied ways 2 to 3 days a week is something that I must do and I mix it up in salads or pastas etc. so it is not a killer –

BUT – THE WHOLE RED MEAT THING – OH GOD – KILL ME NOW!!

I have NOT eaten red meat in over 20 years until like 2 years ago – my doctor said that I needed to be admitted for an emergency iron infusion. I am like huh – what is that etc. Iron pills is not enough so I MUST eat a small portion of red meat EVERY WEEK! How do I do this you may say – I psych my mind up to find previous dishes that my father used to make and go to a RESTAURANT where I know that they will make it edible. I do not cook red meat so me trying to make something would cause me to BARF like I have done plenty other times.

In fact, there are a great many people lumped into the group of vegetarian. Lacto-vegetarians will eat dairy, but not eggs. Ovo-vegetarians will eat eggs, but not dairy. Lacto-ovo vegetarians will eat eggs and dairy products. The reasons for these choices are varied and based on individual beliefs. In some cases they are based on moral choices, and in others on dietary needs or simple preference.  Octo-vegatarians ( WHERE I FALL ) prefer not to eat meat and only eat what is necessary for the sake of their health and nothing more or less. However, they do enjoy the pleasures of dairy products and nuts.

Thanksgiving-Dinner

Nonetheless, you would be shocked to see how pleasant vegan food actually is! Think of a huge Thanksgiving feast – I EAT ALL OF THE SIDES but do not touch the meat –

It is indeed all of the “side items” that really make everyone so full and stuffed during the holidays!!

 

