Being A Good Athlete –

Being a Christian is a lot like being an athlete. It requires training, lots of practice and a dedication to discipline. In scripture, The Apostle Paul uses a lot of sports metaphors to get this idea across to his readers.

Every athlete exercises discipline in every way. They do it to win a perishable crown, but we an imperishable one. This, I do not run aimlessly; I do not fight as if I were shadowboxing. No, I drive my body and train it, for fear that, after having preached to others, I myself should be disqualified.ʺ (1 Corinthians 9:24-27)

Notice that he is not speaking here of just the intellectual training in faith, but the bodily reality of it too. There is in this passage a recognition of the whole person.

Our faith is not just an intellectual exercise. We must live it out in the very reality of our daily lives. This takes a training of the mind and the body. For we are called to run a very real race throughout the course of our entire lives. We are called to believe and to serve. And our faith is not a spectator sport.

With all of that being said >>>> GO RAVENS!

